9 Teachings From Kemetic Spirituality That Reveal The Truth About The Human Soul

PantherMedia A13203535

Kemetic science and Kemetic spirituality are one and the same. That is because your Ancestors understood that science is spirituality that is seen and spirituality is science that is unseen.

As our people left behind the ancient teachings in favor of western religions, we disconnected science and spirituality. We now think that studying spirituality is a matter of faith, while studying science is a matter of fact.

This is not what our Ancestors taught us.

For example, the western world looks at human anatomy as a collection of organs and tissue that is powered by chemical reactions. And when those chemical reactions stop, you die.

The truth is that the body is just one expression of the soul. And in the same way that the human anatomy is made up of parts that work together here on Earth, you have a spiritual anatomy that both connects the seen with the unseen and operates in the Divine Realm.

As Muata Ashby writes “One element [of the soul] may not be effective in all planes of existence. For example, the Ka may not be discernible in the Ta – the physical pane – while the khat may not be discernible in the Pet or Heavenly Plane.”

Your Ancestors taught us that there are nine parts of the human soul. Each part serves a function in and of itself while working with other parts across multiple planes of existence.

In Kemetic Spirituality, these parts were known as the Ren, Ab, Sekhem, Khat, Sahu, Ba, Ka, Khabit, and the Akhu.


The following are the basics of each part of the soul. To go deeper into rituals for purification, strength, and innerstanding, I encourage you to take our Keys to Kemetic Spirituality Course online and at your own pace by clicking here.

Ren – Your Name

Kemetic Spirituality places great emphasis on names. Nswt – rulers in Kemet – had 5 official names:

  • A Heru Ascending name
  • A Nebty (two ladies) name – the two Neteru that protect royalty
  • A Heru Triumphant name (the permanent ascended name of the Nswt)
  • A Throne Name (usually ‘Lord of the Two Lands’)
  • and A Birth name, usually followed by Sa-Ra (or son of Ra)

For example, the full name of the Nswt that we call Tutmose III is actually Kanakht Khaemwaset, Wahnesytmireempet, Sekhempahtydjeserkhaw Menkheperre Thutmose Neferkheperu or Horus Mighty Bull, Arising in Thebes, He of the Two Ladies, Enduring in kingship like Re in heaven, Horus of Gold Powerful of strength, Sacred of appearance, He of the Sedge and the Bee, Enduring of form is Re, Son of Ra, Thutmose, beautiful of forms.

The name was revered even in written form. As both a sign of authority and a spell of protection, your Ancestors encircled the name with a shenu (called a cartouche in the West) similar to the one shown below.

Kemetic Spirituality teaches us that the name is considered to be more than just what you are called. It is your link to your divine form and an important aspect of your soul.

When it comes to Kemetic Spirituality, the name was considered the link that connected your Akhu with your divine form in the heavenly realm called your Sekhem. These two parts of the Kemetic soul will be explored later.

Furthermore, you cannot exist without a name, and your Ancestors believed that as long as your name was remembered and repeated, your spirit would live on.

Hit the NEXT tab below to see the next part of your spiritual anatomy.
5 2 votes
Article Rating

Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Quenton Blanding

I can never find the “next” tab after page 2??

Nia Walker

There are alot of adverts on the page after the main text and the tabs are in amongst them so you should scroll slowly as not to miss them